WISD provides LiveScan fingerprinting services (no ink cards) for School Employment (SE), Driver Education License (LDE), Third Party Tester (TPT), State Bar (SB), Daycare Licensing (DCL) and National Child Protection Act (CPE). These services are located at the WISD, 1819 S Wagner Rd, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106.
We are open for fingerprinting (no appointment necessary) on the following days and times:
Monday from 8:30 - 10:30 a.m.
Wednesday and Thursday from 2:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Fingerprinting is CLOSED on Tuesdays, Fridays and on the following dates:
Closed: Monday, May 30
Closed: Thursday, July 3
Special note: During inclement weather conditions, please check our website or your local weather channel for school closings. If WISD is closed, then fingerprinting will be closed.
- Picture ID (ie., driver's license, passport, etc.)
- $69 Cash, Credit Card (Mastercard/VISA) or Money Order (payable to WISD). Sorry, no checks accepted.
- Completed LIVESCAN Fingerprint Request Form
If your prints were processed and on file with WISD and you want to send your fingerprint report to another District in the state of Michigan, please complete the Fingerprint Release Form (PDF file). You can fax the completed form to (734) 994-2203 or mail it to: Washtenaw ISD, c/o Fingerprint Dept., PO Box 1406, Ann Arbor MI 48106-1406.
The following is a compilation of the most frequently asked questions in regards to being fingerprinted.
Prints are electronically submitted to the Michigan State Police and FBI for the criminal
history search results. The process is expected to take approximately two (2) weeks.
Note: Due to privacy laws, we cannot release Fingerprint Reports to an individual nor can they be faxed.
Q: Is being fingerprinted a yearly requirement?
A: No, this is a one-time requirement for school employees.
Q: Why do I have to be fingerprinted?
A: School Safety legislation enacted in 2006 amended an array of statutes, including the Revised School Code, to require a criminal history check by the Michigan State Police (MSP) and a criminal records check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). These requirements pertain to all School District employees and individuals who regularly and continuously work under contract in a school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or nonpublic school.
Q: I was just recently fingerprinted. Why do I have to do it again?
A: Previously, the Michigan State Police (MSP) did not archive fingerprints. The new legislation requires that the MSP archive your fingerprints.
Q: How long are my fingerprints valid?
A: There is no requirement that you be fingerprinted more than once.
Q: Fingerprinting is expensive. Why does it cost $69 and where does the money go?
A: Expenses are incurred when your fingerprints are processed by the law enforcement agencies and fingerprint site. The Revised School Code expressly authorizes the Department of State Police to charge a fee for conducting criminal records checks.
Q: I lost my receipt; can I get a duplicate?
A: Yes. E-mail LaShonda Taylor at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Once you have completed the fingerprinting process, a criminal history report is generated. The next set of questions addresses those reports.
The following is a compilation of the most frequently asked questions in regards to criminal history reports.
Q: How can I get my criminal history report released to another district?
A: You must complete and sign a release form. Your criminal history report is then mailed to the specified district.
Q: Can my criminal history report be faxed?
A: To ensure confidentiality and privacy, your criminal history report will not be faxed.
Q: Where are my fingerprints and criminal history report?
A: Your fingerprints are kept in the Michigan State Police database. Your criminal history report is at the school district that you requested it be sent to.
Q: May I receive a copy of my criminal history report?
Q: Who has access to my criminal history report?
A: Your criminal history report is, by law, to be used for the purpose of evaluating your qualifications for employment. Under the Revised School Code, the criminal history report from the MSP or its contents cannot be disclosed, except a misdemeanor conviction involving sexual or physical abuse or any felony conviction, to any person who is not directly involved in evaluating qualifications for employment or assignment. Likewise, the results of a criminal records check from the FBI, except a misdemeanor conviction involving sexual or physical abuse or any felony conviction, cannot be disclosed to any person who is not directly involved in evaluating qualifications for employment or assignment.
Q: Can my criminal history report be sent to another state?
A: Some states accept fingerprints processed in other states. You must determine the practice followed in other states. However, the Revised School Code restricts the ability to disclose the criminal history report or its contents or the results of the criminal records checks to other states. See 6 above.
Q: I have been convicted of a crime. What happens next?
A: It depends on the type of conviction. The law now prohibits a school district, intermediate School district, public school academy or nonpublic school from employing, in any capacity, a person convicted of a listed offense. Listed offenses means that term as defined in section 2 of the Sex Offenders Registration Act, MCL 28.722.
If you have been convicted of a felony other than a listed offense, the district superintendent and school board each are required by law to agree in writing to continue your employment with the district/school.
Q: Are there any requirements if I am charged with a crime?
A: A person employed by a school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or Nonpublic school must self-report to the employer and the Department of Education in the Event the employee is charged with a crime listed in section 1535a(1) or 1539b(1) of the Revised School Code or a substantially similar law of another state or the United States.
The report must be submitted within three (3) business days of the arraignment or the employee will be guilty of an additional crime and may be discharged from employment. These requirements also apply to individuals who are regularly and continuously working under contract who have had an initial criminal history check or criminal records check. Additional disclosures are necessary in the event there is a plea of guilt or no contest or a finding of guilt of any crime after having been initially charged with a crime described in section 1535a(1) or 1539b(1) of the Revised School Code.